booksaremyrealities

in order to really enjoy any story, you need to get the ending out of the way as soon as possible

my stomach is quite happy

on February 17, 2012

Ok here i go again. Yesterday i made my tummy quite happy. I try to eat moderately – but well.. one of the perks in my current job is that when we have visitors, we dine and get to eat a lot.

and posting this again makes me think twice of the title of this blog..but like i have said books and food are the same for me..so i feel like sharing what i indulged myself yesterday. πŸ˜› A Β feast for the eyes ( yours that is) and for my tummy.

 

now this is clam soup… yes clam, juicy clams.. i like it because it is a bit spicy from the chili leaves ( is that even the right term? lol dahon ng sili!! )

one of us decided to try Japanese food since she said it is delicious. This is california maki or the fish used i believe is california maki since california maki is a fish right?? i am not so good at knowing the ingredients used lol But all in all i like it but i do not think i will be craving for this… it tad to sweet.. overwhelming i guess but it might be because what is the stuffing in between – i do not know what is inside, hubby said the crunchy part is cucumber ( he on the other hand loves Japanese food) Though i love the wasabi at the side, it is really spicy and makes me forget the sweetness of it..and the sauce makes it blend well..BUT i do not like the color of the wasabi.. it makes me think of other things… hahaha! that little green drop..

now this is sushi!! yum yum yum.. it is like “kilawin” without the vinegar. lol just have to dip it in wasabi and the sauce and its perfect.. yet then again, i won’t be craving for this but i know what to expect when i am in Japan. hahaha. Hubby says he gets full just eating those little slices. I just don’t get it. I don’t. Plus i do not get the hang of using chopsticks they have provided, i would rather eat with my fingers lol.

good old pasta – stir fried canton with a chicken and shrimps ( real food!!!! hahah)

and this is good ol’ Filipino Bilao ( since it is served in Bilao with different kinds of food in it) in it are fish fillet ( that was maki too i believe) shrimps, calamares – Β my fave, and green mangoes!!! with eggs in the middle but it is a disappointment since it wasn’t salted eggs 😦

I took a picture of this but i didn’t eat it since i was really full. Chopsuey of different veggies. corn,carrots,mushrooms,baguio beans..and whole other veggies i cannot distinguish.

this one i know is sweet and sour fish, Lapu lapu i believe but i really forgot to take a picture of it before it was devoured by my hungry officemates..and alas all was left was the head. Sorry folks, the body was badly mutilated.

and this one is a personal fave, we all ordered Knicker Bucker – Palmera’s is the only restaurant who serves this. Below are different kinds of fruit from watermelon to banana all blended well by melted ( or softened?) vanilla ice cream yum yum yum! It is just blended so perfectly but i know there is something else in that mixture which is a secret (darn.) and it is topped with strawberry ice cream more yummmmmmmmmmmm!

But i tell you this isn’t for those with high blood sugar for it is sometimes a big tad too sweet.

a closer look of the fruits in it.

all in all my tummy was really happy – way way way happy from all the food i ate. Now it is time for some detoxification. πŸ™‚

5 responses to “my stomach is quite happy

  1. socates says:

    The California roll is a maki-zushi, a kind of sushi roll, usually made inside-out, containing cucumber, crab meat or imitation crab, and avocado. In some countries it is made with mango or banana instead of avocado. Sometimes crab salad is substituted for the crab stick, and often the outer layer of rice (in an inside-out roll) is sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds, tobiko or masago.

    As one of the most popular styles of sushi in the US market and abroad, the California roll has been influential in sushi’s global popularity and in inspiring sushi chefs around the world in creating their non-traditional fusion cuisine.[1]

    This is from wikipedia. sorry got to paste it here because I really don’t think it is made of fish….and i am correct. PEACE! πŸ˜€

  2. socates says:

    or if you are up to it maybe you can try the fish instead of the crab meat….but for me I need to see and taste california maki made of fish. actually california maki and sushi are my favorite. πŸ˜€

  3. d3swirlz says:

    I love california maki! They’re my favorite sushi from Tokyo Tokyo. I’ve tasted some from another store too, and they taste great as well. Maybe it’s the ingredients used there. I don’t recall any crunchy part. The mango is what I love. And the color orange of the sushi makes me giddy. hahah.

    I miss knickerbocher. You can’t find that here. Sometimes you long for the taste.

    There’s knickerbocher at paseo.

Leave a Reply

